Structure of The Pyramid: Levels 1-9

Want an easy-to-read version of these pages for your wall? Then buy a copy of The Pyramid Poster
This page shows the top nine levels of the pyramid. Clicking on league titles in blue will give you details of the pyramid below that league; clicking on league titles in black takes you to the offical league site.

In order to help indiacte the rough geographical coverage of each level 9 league, the counties covered league are given. The 43 County Football Associations have used to provide the list of counties. Where county-wide leagues exsist, the relevant county is given in normla type face under the level 9 league the county league (ultimately) feeds into. Counties shown in italics do not have county-wide leagues, but have been placed using leagues within that county. Ten counties (Cumberland, Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Huntingdonshire, Lincolnshire, London, North Riding, Shropshire, Westmorland and Worcestershire) are not listed - this is due to lack of definate information. See also the maps at the bottom of this page.

The LeagueMap page show the geographic coverage of a league or leagues throughout the pyramid.

1. FA Barclaycard Premiership (20)
2. Coca-cola Championship (24)
3. Coca-cola League One (24)
4. Coca-cola League Two (24)
5. Nationwide Conference: National Division (24)
6. North Division (22) 6. South Division (22)
7. (Unibond) Northern Premier
League: Premier Division
8. Division 1 (24)
9. North West Counties
Liverpool, Manchester, Staffordshire, Cheshire, Lancashire

9. Northern Counties East
Sheffield & Hallamshire, East Riding, West Riding, Nottinghamshire

9. Northern League
Co. Durham, Northumberland

7. Southern League:
Premier Division
8. Midlands
8. South & West Division (22)
9. Midland Alliance
Birmingham, Leicestershire & Rutland

9. Spartan South Midlands

9. United Counties
Bedfordshire, Northamptonshire

9. Hellenic League
Oxfordshire, Berks & Bucks

9. Wessex League
Dorset, Hampshire

9. Western League
Gloucestershire, Somerset,
Wiltshire, Devon, Cornwall

7. (Ryman) Isthmian League:
Premier Division
8. Division 1 North (22) 8. Division 1 South (22)
9. Eastern Counties
Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Suffolk

9. Essex Senior

9. Combined Counties
Middlesex, Surrey

9. Kent League

9. Sussex County

(**) Denotes that this league has have ** clubs

League maps

The following map shows the rough geographical distribution of the level six, seven, eight and nine leagues by county. For the level nine map, I looked at which level nine league a given county-wide league feeds into. The paler areas are my personal best guess for the county, due to lack of more concrete infomtaion. For the level seven and eight maps, I have used the location of member clubs, based on infomation provided on Tony Kempster's site. These are strictly meant as a rough guide only, as the the borders are not fixed.
The LeagueMap has more detailed versions of these maps available, as well as maps of leagues at other levels.
Level 6 Level 7
Level 8 Level 9

Copyright 2002-6 Tom Willis | Updated 22:06 07/11/2006