Pyramid Restructuring

The new structure is shown on the Structure of The Pyramid: 2004/5 onwards page.

Changes to structure

Starting from the upcoming 2004/5 season, the pyramid will take be changed as follows:
  • Two new divisions will be created between The Conference and the three leagues currently below it. They will be known as Conference North and Conference South
  • Consequently, all leagues currently below the Conference will be one level lower.
  • The Isthmian League will change to having a premier division, and just one first division.
  • The FA intend to reduce the number of leagues currently at level 8 from the current 15 to 12.

Promotion/Relegation at the end of the 2003/4 Season

Promotion/Relegation from the 2004/5 Season


  • Con - Conference
  • ConN - Conference North
  • ConS - Conference South
  • ICLs - Inter county leagues, the leagues which are currently at level 8, and will be at level 9.
  • IL - Isthmian League (a.k.a. Ryman League)
  • ILP - IL Premier Division
  • IL1 - IL 1st Division(s)
  • IL1N - IL 1st Division North
  • IL1S - IL 1st Division South
  • NPL - Northern Premier League (a.k.a Unibond League)
  • NPLP - NPL Premier Division
  • SL - Southern League (a.k.a. Dr Martens League)
  • SLP - SL Premier Division
  • SLE - SL 1st Division East
  • SLW - SL 1st Division West

The source of most of the information in the Resturcturing section has come from Tony Kempster's Football Site (Pyramid restruring, FA Competitions, Fixtures, Results & Tables...)

Copyright 2003/4 Tom Willis | Last updated 21:34 06/01/2004